4 months – “Sign-off”

It is now 4 months since my hip was replaced and it was time to go and see the surgeon for a second check earlier this week. The latest X-Ray looks absolutely identical to the one on the day of the surgery so the hip is exactly where it should be and everything is going according to plan. My hip can rotate forwards at least 100 degrees so that seems to have passed the test. My walking is fine and I have virtually no pain.

The best news yet is that I can now do all the things which I was previously told not to do. I can use a bath again, swim breast stroke and cross my legs (but not the operated one over the other one).

In almost every respect, my hip is now so much better than it was 5 months ago. The only issues I have are the occasional slight “twinge” when I move awkwardly and what I was told is called “start-up” pain: This is when I have been sitting still for, say, a long car journey and then try to stand up. It seems to take a few seconds for the hip to get itself working properly and can be mildly painful. The surgeon tells me that these will disappear over the next couple of months.

Job done!

Leave a comment