Day 51 – “On yer bike!”

I had an excellent day yesterday when I saw the surgeon for my first post-operative check and found that everything is going to plan. I am now allowed to do almost all of the things that were banned in order to protect my hip and my job now is the get my strength and flexibility back. 

The only mildly annoying thing is that I am still not allowed to use a bath as it puts too much stress on the hip joint when you get out. After 7 weeks though I am so used to using the shower that I don’t miss it too much.

First things first and I have booked an appointment with a sports physiotherapist and then it is on to my bike for the first ride since the operation. Amazingly it felt absolutely fine and I did a 2.5 mile circuit with no problem at all. It was flat though – hills will come later! I am still debating whether or not to get a stationary exercise bike but if the weather holds then continuing to ride outside is going to be so much more pleasant.

I managed about 10 miles walking over the last few days including a 5.5 mile one that I struggled with before my op so I can now say I have walked 60 miles and cycled 2.5 on the new hip. Onwards and upwards…….

One thought on “Day 51 – “On yer bike!”

  1. Well done The relief of being able to bicycle must be extreme Getting out of a bath is easy peasy . Even We can do it Dennis

    ________________________________

Leave a comment