Day 41 – A walk in the winter sunshine

ImageIt was a beautiful winter day today so we decided to go for a walk by the river Thames at Cliveden. The main grounds were shut for the winter so we drove to the woodland car park and took a steep, muddy track down to the river, about 60 metres below the car park level. The river has overflowed massively on the southern bank, flooding fields and houses and closing the road at Cookham but on the North where we were it was still about 50cm below the bank in most places. The water flowing off the fields back into the Thames made a strange “whooshing” sound like a mini waterfall (which I suppose is what it is in effect).

This was my first walk on slippery mud and steep slopes but my walking boots worked well and the hip performed perfectly. After a total of 3.3 miles (without a walking stick) my leg was starting to ache rather but it was a great walk and proof that I am still improving, recovering well and my stamina is returning.

One thought on “Day 41 – A walk in the winter sunshine

Leave a comment